School term and holiday dates for 2020/2021

Academies and some schools are able to set different dates.

There are five teacher training days, all to be set at the discretion of the individual schools. Please note these will fall inside of the 195 days set out below. Please contact your school directly for full details.

School holiday and term dates

2020/2021 academic year

  Starts Ends
Autumn term begins Thursday 3 September 2020 Friday 23 October 2020
Autumn half term Monday 26 October 2020 Friday 30 October 2020
Autumn term continues Monday 2 November 2020 Friday 18 December 2020
Christmas holiday Monday 21 December 2020 Friday 1 January 2021
Spring term begins Monday 4 January 2021 Friday 12 February 2021
Spring half term Monday 15 February 2021 Friday 19 February 2021
Spring term continues Monday 22 February 2021 Friday 26 March 2021
Easter holiday Monday 29 March 2021 Friday 9 April 2021
Summer term begins Monday 12 April 2021 Friday 28 May 2021
Summer half term Monday 31 May 2021 Friday 4 June 2021
Summer term continues Monday 7 June 2021 Thursday 22 July 2021
Summer holiday Friday 23 July 2021 View 2021/2022 dates

Schools with different term dates

Some schools may choose to select different term dates to those set by Cambridgeshire County Council. For those schools who have notified us of different term dates, we have published links to their websites below.

Bank holidays

Bank holiday dates can be found on GOV.UK.

How school term and holiday dates are set

Cambridgeshire County Council as the local authority has a duty to determine school term dates for maintained schools. Schools must be open to pupils for 190 days in an academic year, and 195 days for teachers. Schools have five training days available to take at their discretion.

Foundation, Trust, Voluntary Aided schools and Academies are responsible for setting their own term and holiday dates and so individual schools may choose to follow a pattern and / or specific dates that do not match those set by the local authority.