School term dates

Introduction

Local Authorities have a duty to determine school term dates for local authority maintained schools. Schools must be open to pupils for 190 days in an academic year, and 195 days for teachers. Schools have five training days available to take at their discretion.

Please check the school’s own website to verify term dates and details of staff training dates, which are set at the discretion of the school. Foundation, Trust, Voluntary Aided schools and Academies are responsible for setting their own holiday dates. So individual schools, may choose to follow a pattern and/or specific dates that do not match those set by us.

School term and holiday dates for 2021/2022

Autumn Term dates

  • Starts: Wednesday 1 September 2021
  • Half Term: Monday 25 October to Friday 29 October
  • Ends: Friday 17 December 2021
  • Christmas Holidays: Monday 20 December to Monday 3 January

Spring Term dates

  • Starts: Tuesday 4 January 2022
  • Half Term: Monday 14 February to Friday 18 February
  • Ends: Friday 1 April 2022
  • Spring (Easter) Holidays Monday 4 April to Monday 18 April

Summer Term dates

  • Starts: Tuesday 19 April 2022
  • Half Term: Monday 30 May to Friday 3 June
  • Ends: Friday 22 July 2022
  • Summer Holiday: Monday 25 July to Wednesday 31 August

Bank holiday dates can be found on GOV.UK.

School term and holiday dates for 2022/2023

Autumn Term dates

  • Thursday 1 September - Friday 21 October 2022
  • Monday 31 October - Wednesday 21 December 2022
  • Half Term - 24 to 28 October

Spring Term dates

  • Wednesday 4 January - Friday 10 February 2023
  • Monday 20 February - Friday 31 March 2023
  • Half Term - 13 to 17 February

Summer Term dates

  • Monday 17 April - Friday 26 May 2023 
  • Monday 5 June – Wednesday 19 July 2023 
  • Half Term - 29 May to 2nd June

Bank holiday dates can be found on GOV.UK.