Skip to main content

Local Government in Cambridgeshire

Government services are split into several levels. Many of the day-to-day interactions you have with 'the council' may be with your parish, town, district or city council, as well as Cambridgeshire County Council.

Cambridgeshire County Council

District councils in Cambridgeshire

Cambridgeshire is made up of five districts containing a total of 60 divisions. Your local district council is responsible for services including:

  • Council tax payments and benefits
  • Household bin collections
  • Housing and housing benefits
  • Council leisure facilities
  • Environmental health
  • Residential planning

Contact your local district council using the following links.

Town and parish councils in Cambridgeshire

Town and parish councils are responsible for the following:

  • Looking after community buildings
  • Open spaces
  • Allotments
  • Play areas
  • Bus shelters

There are no parish councils in the Cambridge City Council area. You can find details of your town and parish councils from the relevant district councils.

The following parish and town councils have set up their own websites:

Members of Parliament for Cambridgeshire

Mayor for Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Dr Nik Johnson was elected Mayor for Cambridgeshire and Peterborough on 8 May 2021.

The role of the Mayor of Cambridgeshire and Peterborough is to deliver economic prosperity across the region as laid out in the Devolution Deal, to make Cambridgeshire and Peterborough a leading place in the world to live, learn, work and do business.

The Mayor leads the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority.